Lands of Anaris

A territory cut by the mythical Eume River, in the last European Atlantic forest

Church of Virtudes

Church of Virtudes

It stands out for the Churrigueresque altarpiece in its main chapel.

Also known as Nuestra Señora del Soto, it was built by Nuno Freire de Andrade in 1378. Only a stone block with the Andrade coat of arms and the tympanum of the door with the image of the Virgin are preserved from the original construction. Its current appearance is the result of the reconstruction funded between 1672 and 1680 by the Indiano Andrés Copeiro. The bell tower dates back to 1817, and the dome and cupola were rebuilt in 1858 by the architect Faustino Domínguez.

Among its furniture, the main Baroque altarpiece with Solomonic columns and relics stands out, possibly made in the late 17th century by Alonso González. It was painted after 1718.